RuneScape Community Forums (since 2001)
Just Saying Hi! - Printable Version

+- RuneScape Community Forums (since 2001) (https://runescapecommunity.com)
+-- Forum: News (https://runescapecommunity.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Welcome! (https://runescapecommunity.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: Just Saying Hi! (/showthread.php?tid=843)

Just Saying Hi! - Sleepy - 10-01-2019

Hey everyone!

I just now stumbled upon the 2018 post announcing the closing of the Zybez Community, so I thought I'd stop by and say hello, since I remember having a lot of fun on RSC. It was the first online community I really got involved with - this was back as an early teenager, and I'm 30 now.  Time really does fly by!

For some background, I started playing RuneScape in 2002 and joined RSC in 2003. I became a pretty active poster (mainly between 2003-2005), and was a Senior Member during part of that time.

To me, what made RSC unique was how people were encouraged to try and be better posters/forum members. Like, do y'all remember the Community Mentor Project?  For those who don't remember it, it was a system where two people were paired up, and the "mentor" would coach the "mentee" on better posting styles. For some of us, myself included, the goal was to get attention/ratings and possibly forum promotions, but it also had the cool effect of many posters genuinely trying their best to write great content and stimulating discussions. I'm sure that some of this existed on other RuneScape boards, but it seemed most prominent on RSC.